2007 Award Winners for Innovation & Excellence

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) has announced the winners of the eighth annual National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships at an awards dinner and presentation held at the Downtown Toronto Hilton Hotel on the evening of November 26, 2007.

Winner of the Silver Award for Project Financing was the partnership of the Quebec Ministry of Transportation and Macquarie Infrastructure Partners for the Completion of Autoroute 25 in the Montreal Metropolitan Area project.

The Silver Award for Infrastructure was presented to the partnership of BC Ministry of Transportation and Bilfinger Berger BOT Inc. (doing business as the Trans- Park Highway Group) Kicking Horse Canyon, Phase 2 project.

The Chuck Wills Awards was awarded to the partnership of the District of Sooke, BC and EPCOR Water Services Inc. for the Sooke Core Area Sanitary Sewer System project. The Chuck Wills Award is reserved for public-private partnerships project excellence and innovation at the municipal level.

Three Awards of Merit, were handed out, Project Financing, Innovative Procurement and for Implementation of the P3 process.

Award of Merit, for Project Financing for the partnership of Infrastructure Ontario and Access Justice Durham for the Durham Consolidated Courthouse project.

Award of Merit, for Implementation of the P3 Process for the partnership of Alberta Infrastructure and Transportation and Stoney Trail General Partnership for the Northeast Stoney Trail Ring Road, Calgary, Alberta project.

The Award of Merit for Innovative Procurement was presented to the partnership of Vancouver Island Health Authority and The Ahmon Group for the Vancouver Island Health Authority Residential Care and Assisted Living Capacity Initiative project.

The 2007 Champion Award was presented to Mr. Pierre Le François, Executive Director of the Association nationale de Éditeurs de livres (Canadian Association of French-speaking publishers). Mr. Le François is the former President of the Society of Partnership and Cooperation and former President of the Institut pour le Partenariats Public Privé in Québec. He was a Board Director of The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships from 1997-2006. Mr. Le François is the eighth recipient of the Champion Award. Previous recipients have included the late James MacLaren, Donald Macdonald, Mac Carson, Glenna Carr, the late Chuck Wills, Gary Collins and Michael H. Wilson.

Case Studies of the 2007 National Award Winners are available in our bookstore.