2005 Award Winners for Innovation & Excellence

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) has announced the winners of the eighth annual National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships at an awards dinner and presentation held at the Downtown Toronto Hilton Hotel on the evening of November 28, 2005.

Winner of the Gold Award for Project Financing was the partnership of Partnerships BC, BC Ministry of Transportation and Macquarie North America for the Sea-to-Sky Highway Improvement Project.

The Silver Award for Service Delivery was awarded to the partnership of the Ontario Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services and Eurest Dining Services (Compass Group Canada Ltd.) for the Public-Private Partnership at the Cook-Chill Food Production Centre project.

The Silver Award for Infrastructure went to the partnership of the Regional Municipality of Peel – Public Works Department and Integrated Gas Recovery Services Inc. for the Britannia Landfill Gas to Electricity Project.

Two Awards of Merit, for Project Financing were also presented.

Award of Merit, for Project Financing for the partnership of the Government of Alberta, Ministry of Infrastructure and Transportation and Access Roads Edmonton Ltd. (AREL) for the Edmonton-Anthony Henday Drive Southeast Leg Ring Road project.

Award of Merit, for Project Financing for the partnership of Partnerships BC, the BC Ministry of Health Services and AHA Access Health Abbotsford Ltd. for the Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre (ARHCC) project.

The 2005 Champion Award was presented to Gary Collins, President and CEO of Harmony Airways and former Minister of Finance for British Columbia. Mr. Collins was the architect of the public-private partnerships program in British Columbia. He was also principally responsible for creating Partnerships BC, the government agency responsible for identifying and implementing public-private partnerships in BC. Mr. Collins is the sixth recipient of the Champion Award. Previous recipients have included the late James MacLaren, Donald Macdonald, Mac Carson, Glenna Carr, and the late Chuck Wills.

Sponsors for the 2005 Awards Program were: Partnerships BC and the BC Ministry of Finance, Deutsche Bank, TERANET Inc. PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP, Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP and the Government of Canada, Public Works and Government Services.

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships was established in 1993 and fosters co-operation between the public and private sectors in developing creative ways to finance and deliver public services to benefit Canadians.

You may order the Case Studies of the 2005 National Award Winners in our bookstore.