2004 Award Winners for Innovation & Excellence

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) has announced the winners of the seventh annual National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships at an awards dinner and presentation held at the Downtown Toronto Hilton Hotel on November 22, 2004.

Winner of the Gold Award for Project Financing was the partnership of the British Columbia Ministry of Energy and Mines and Ledcor Industries Ltd. for the Sierra Yoyo Desan Resource Road, BC project.

The Gold Award for Service Delivery was awarded to the partnership of the Ontario Ministry of Transportation and Serco Group PLC for DriveTest - The Ontario Ministry of Transportation Driver Examination Services Transaction project.

The Gold Award for Infrastructure went to the partnership of the City of Sidney, BC and SCH Group for The SHOAL Centre, Sidney BC (Seniors Recreation Centre) project.

The C.W. Chuck Wills Award was given to the partnership of the City of Port Colborne, Ontario and Canadian Niagara Power Inc. (FortisOntario Inc.) for the City of Port Colborne Lease of its Electric Distribution Company to Canadian Niagara Power project.

The Chuck Wills Award was inaugurated in 2003 to honour a longtime supporter of The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships. Mr. Chuck Wills was the posthumous recipient of the 2003 Champion Award presented to an individual within the public-private partnership movement who best exemplifies the aims and objectives of public-private partnerships. Mr. Wills was the Chief Administrative Officer for the City of Windsor until his retirement in March, 2002 and a member of the The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships Board of Directors from 1997 to 1999 serving as the Annual Conference Chair for three years. At his death, he was the Chair of the Board for the University of Windsor.

The Award was given for the first time this year and will be given to future winning projects at the municipal level.

Sponsors for the 2004 Awards Program were: The Government of British Columbia, Ministries of Transportation and Finance, TERANET Inc., PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP, Ernst & Young Orenda Corporate Finance Inc., Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP and the Government of Canada, Public Works and Government Services.

You may order the Case Studies of the 2004 National Award Winners in our bookstore. Information on previous case studies are also available on that page.